SAINTFIELD HERITAGE SOCIETY

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING - 15th APRIL 2010

HELD IN SAINTFIELD LIBRARY AT 8.15 PM

MEMBERS PRESENT

Martyn Todd (Chair)

Attendance of members - as per register

APOLOGIES

Des Greer Michael Barnes

MINUTES

Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting of 2nd April 2009 which had been circulated before the Meeting were taken as read, approved by those present and signed by the Chairman.

HONORARY SECRETARY'S REPORT

We have had another excellent year with the Society and our talks have been very well attended. In May our Members Night Dinner was at Temple Golf Club again when we welcomed Caroline Nolan, local broadcaster and Strangford Lough Officer, as our guest. Caroline talked about the unique environment of Strangford Lough. It was a fascinating evening, attended by 56 members and friends, and as usual the Golf Club looked after us extremely well. The Outing in June was a visit to Carrickfergus Castle, with a tour highlighting its turbulent history, and to Dobbins Inn, a former tower house, for lovely sandwiches and a ghost story.

In September our regular meetings commenced with local author Clive Scoular, kindly standing in at short notice, and talking about Spies in Ireland. Then we had:-

Bill and Pat Power -with their experiences working on Irish lighthouses

John Killen -Christmas in Ireland Dr Cormac Bourke -the Vikings in Ireland

Dr Tony Bazley -Co Down's Rocky Heritage

our own Mike Snowden -the history of the Rowallane Bandstand and finally tonight Brian Black is talking on Travels with a Camera.

I am sure that the Programme Sub-Committee will maintain this high standard next year and I encourage you to come and to bring along your friends.

HONORARY TREASURER'S REPORT

Lesley Thompson, Honorary Treasurer, circulated copies of the accounts for the year ended 31st March 2010. £4,855.64 is being held in a current account at the Northern Bank. Adoption of these accounts was proposed by Joe Morton and seconded by Jimmy Todd and approved by the meeting. The report was prepared by Mr Lesley Thompson, Hon. Treasurer and audited by Mr R Copes.

CHAIRMAN'S ADDRESS

I welcome members and guests to our last talk of the season. This is our AGM for which, in line with the tradition of the Society, we will follow our constitution but as

quickly as we possibly can so that we can get on with the main business of the evening. This is my opportunity to give a chairman's address and I will limit this to a few brief but genuinely heartfelt thanks.

Firstly - You members here tonight and most nights. Although guests are always welcome at SHS, paid up members are more welcome. Thank you for your support, financially and by your physical presence, even when there is ice on the ground or a political debate on TV.

Secondly - A society like ours lives or dies on the quality of its programme. We have had superb programmes for the last few years, attracting new members and guests - sometimes to the capacity of the Library. Thank you to the Programme Committee: Des, Michael, Jane, Rosie and Geoffrey.

Thirdly - Your Committee. We have an excellent Committee who between them give time, attention and thought to everything that needs to be done. We have compiled a list of all these tasks - it runs to seven pages and Committee members have volunteered to share these tasks out among them, relieving the burden on the officers. Thank you to the Committee. I would like to give personal thanks to your former chair, Prof Des Greer who has been a great help to me and a very sure and steady source of help and guidance.

Fourthly - Two of the considerable tasks that members of the committee take on are the Outing - John and Brian and the Dinner - Jane, Valerie and Rosie. I know that the standard of both these events will be very high again this year and I encourage you all to thank the organisers in the way that they will appreciate most - that is come along and bring some friends.

Fifthly - I would like to thank the Honorary Treasurer and Honorary Secretary for all their hard work during the year.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR 2010 - 2011

President Our President has been Miss Enid Minnis since 2003 and she is due to stand down or be re-elected this year. The Committee would be very keen to see Miss Minnis continue on as President. This was Proposed by Albert Baird and Seconded by Geoffrey Perrin. There being no other nominations Miss Minnis was duly elected.

Honorary Treasurer Brian Young was elected last year as our Treasurer to replace Lesley Thompson who stood down during his three year term. According to our Constitution, Brian's term is Lesley's term and so Brian is due to stand down or be re-elected this year. Those of you who know Brian know that he quietly carries out the role meticulously and the Committee were very pleased indeed when Brian agreed to let his name go forward for re-election. This was Proposed by John Lowry and Seconded by Martyn Todd. There being no other nominations Brian was duly elected.

Committee Members Des Greer and Michael Barnes are due to stand down or be re-elected as Committee members this year. You all know that in the roles of

chairman, Programme Committee members, IT and technology expert and now chair of the Book Committee Des and Michael have made a huge contribution to the Society and it is with very great pleasure that I can say to you that both are willing for their names to go forward for re-election. Des was Proposed by Brian Young and Seconded by Valerie Anderson and Michael was Proposed by Jane Todd and Seconded by Ronnie Fleming. There being no other nominations Des and Michael were duly elected.

We have room for one more Committee member who we can co-opt during the year as necessary and we will need two new people next year. Two of our Committee, who are due to stand down next year, have indicated to me that, after very many years of very significant contribution to the Society, they will not wish to go forward for re-election again. So I am asking for volunteers between now and next year.

HONORARY AUDITOR

Mr Roy Copes has been the Society's Honorary Auditor for more years than we can establish from the Minute Book and has finally said enough! We are extremely grateful to Mr Copes for his service and the Committee has agreed to recognise this with a gift.

I am very pleased to let you know that Mr Noel Gibson of Savage and Co in Saintfield has agreed to let his name go forward as Honorary Auditor. Mr Gibson was proposed by Martyn Todd and seconded by Brian Young. There being no other nominations Noel Gibson was elected as Honorary Auditor.

VENUE FOR NEXT YEAR

Although we have not had any formal notice from the SEELB, we have had indication that the Library may not be available to us or any other group next year. The Committee has agreed to hold our subscription to the same rate next year, but if we have to move elsewhere we know that venue costs will rise significantly. I would like to ask for your approval at this AGM to allow the Committee to increase the membership fee in the event of having to move venues. The maximum fee envisage at this stage would be £10 per person. This was Proposed by Jim Lemon and Seconded by Henry Saville.

ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There being no other business the Chairman thanked everyone for their cooperation in making the AGM as painless as possible and yet business-like and he closed the meeting.

<u>CHAIRMAN</u>		DATE	
HON SECRE	TARY	DATE	